Scan QR
The castle is believed to have been built by the Urart Kingdom in the mid-17th century. The castle was later used by the Macedonians, Seleucids, Romans and Byzantines. It consists of an inner and outer castle. It is reported that the castle had more than 100 rooms when it was first built, but not all of these buildings have survived until Today, it is also possible to find the remains of structures such as mosques, religious schools, dungeons and water tanks inside the building. The castle is also called the Mahmudi Castle or Narin Castle, because it was rebuilt in 1643 by Mahmud Bey Sari Suleiman during the Ottoman period.